Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us     
 
Find a   within   from ZIP    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit July 25, 2013 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning     
 Afternoon    
 Evening 
 Night          
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in New York
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
Louise B.     Age 76      Female      New York  - Madison Avenue UES
 
Member ID: 14806 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Mother's Helper or Travel companion with family - temporary or permanent contracts 
Position Type: Live-In or Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
 
  Join now for access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
An energetic female who raised a beautiful daughter with a successful personal and career in Canada. I have a diversified background in education, am a certified early childhood teacher with experience in Canada, New York and recently in a private early childhood school in Japan. I enjoyed a short term nanny position on the UES with two young children.
With an art and visual performing degree I enjoy many hobbies and interests. I am active in maintaining a healthy lifestyle with running, practicing yoga, cooking and enjoying outdoors activities - swimming, skiing, dancing, visiting parks, museums and events happening in the city.
My passion working with children is to be positive, proactive in providing fun, stimulating activities that are age appropriate to encourage developmental growth academically, socially and emotionally. A favorite activity I enjoy is reading stories throughout the day, singing and engaging in fun play activities.
Communication with the family is done with daily highlights of our day, recognizing successes, fun we had and planning activities that work around the families schedule.
I am available and will consider part-time or full time, live in or live out, have a valid passport to travel, and assist with children's laundry, their room and errands.
Additional skills: Infant CPR, yoga for children, cooking with little chefs, drivers license Literacy and Writing Coach. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
No 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
Canadian 
Background Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in the U.S.:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Divorced 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Anglican 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
10 years experience, 2 references
Nanny for two young children (4 and 7 years) UES New York... Aug - Nov 2012
Pick-up from school, prepared snacks, arranged playdates, accompanied them to arranged events - sports, museum programs, going to playgrounds, assisting with completion of school projects, developing personal responsibility for keeping their room tidy, organized and safe, visiting the Library, playing games at home on the 'rainy day', planning special activities (pumpkin carving, creating cards, writing thank you notes, preparing healthy snacks, dinner for children, bath time and sharing stories while waiting for Mom and Dad to come home from work. When family took short weekend trips out of town assisting the family in preparation of packing and travel needs. Meeting Mom at Clinic for pre arranged medical appointments and if necessary administering medical throughout the day as required. Contacting Mom if urgent health issues that arose during the day.
My initial few days with family, find out what things the children like to do or if infants ask parents about schedules, needs or concerns about how I would plan day with child(ten).
I have time, patience and lots of energy to have fun days with lots of laughter, giggles and big smiles. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children, twins, triplets  
Education/Training:
Bachelor's Degree, CPR Training, First Aid Training, College Child Education Courses, TESOL 
Completed extensive University training and granted my certification in Education as a teacher. Specialized in Early Childhood with additional certification in the Arts and Visual Performing degree. During my eight years teaching in New York city, I had the opportunity to work in the capacity of a Literacy coach. This position was working with teachers and students to implement mandated programs in reading and writing. Additional course study in specialized programs such as Montessori, Head Start, Art Therapy for Children and special need students with computer programs.  
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Mother's Helper or Travel companion with family - temporary or permanent contracts 
Position Type:
Live-In or Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
Work Hours:
30 - 40 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   3 - 12 months
 
   1 - 2 years
 
   As Long as Needed
 
   Summer Position
 
   Occasional/As Needed
 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Mending Children's clothing as required
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
May 28, 2013 
Desired Salary:
$20/Hour or $800 - $1000/month 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Will care  Special Needs Children:
No 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
   Supervise contractors and tradespersons
 
   Event and entertainment planning and organization
 
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
Have extensive experience organizing and working special events. assisting with celebrity charity auctions. Assisted with Summer Art festival, performed visual exhibits of local artists, worked Gala evening and Celebrity events. In Canada, while at University, I had the great pleasure of working at a six month World Exposition in the capacity of Guest Relations and VIP events. Initially the position was volunteering but I was promoted to a paid position based on my merits and work ethics.