Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us     
 
Find a   within   from ZIP    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit June 25, 2013 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning     
 Afternoon    
 Evening     
 Night              
 
 
 
 
 
Caregiver Profile 
Nanny & Babysitter in New York
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
Jennifer G.     Age 28      Female      New York, NY  - Amsterdam Avenue
 
Member ID: 15554 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type: Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
 
  Join now for access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
I recently graduated from Boston College in May with my BA in Human Development and English and my MEd in Educational Research, Measurement, and Evaluation. In September, I will begin pursuing my PhD in Developmental Psychology at Teachers College, Columbia University. I will also simultaneously be working at the National Center for Children and Families. I love kids and cannot think of a better way to spend my first summer in NYC than caring for, entertaining, and working with infants and children. My whole life has been dedicated to the well being and development of children and youth, and I would love to bring my passion and energy into your family.

Since age 12 I have babysat boys and girls from infancy through 10 years of age. I have experience caring for individual children, as well as watching up to three children at once. During the summer of 2010, I worked as a full-time nanny for a family with a 5-year-old girl and a 7-year-old boy who had severe autism. We spent almost all of our time outside at parks, pools, beaches, or just their backyard.

Additionally, I have worked as a tutor for elementary school students, English language learners, and high school students. In my spare time at Boston College, I served as the coordinator for a music program that worked with children with severe special needs.

My favorite activities are reading, watching and playing sports and other games, and just being outside in general. I am not a fan of television and consider myself a very creative and active individual. I cannot wait to have an entertaining and enriching summer, while providing one for your children as well. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
No 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, Spanish 
 
My Nationality:
American 
Background Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in the U.S.:
Yes 
Civil Status:
 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
10 years experience, 3 references
- Regular and occasional babysitter for children ages infancy through 10-years-old for 10 years
- Full-time nanny for two children (5-year-old girl and 7-year-old boy with severe autism) during the summer of 2010 (continued as an occasional babysitter for family)
- Tutor for elementary school students, students who are English language learners, and high school students for 8 years
- Worker at a special needs school (Boston College Campus School) on a weekly basis for 4 years 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, special needs children  
Education/Training:
High School, Graduated High School or Equivalent, College, Bachelor's Degree, Master's Degree, CPR Training, First Aid Training, College Child Education Courses 
- BA from Boston College in Human Development and English - MEd from Boston College in Educational Research, Measurement, and Evaluation - Doctoral candidate at Teachers College, Columbia University in Developmental Psychology 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Nanny/Housekeeper or Tutor or Mother's Helper 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
Work Hours:
30 - 40 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   Less than 3 months
 
   Summer Position
 
   Occasional/As Needed
 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
June 25, 2013 
Desired Salary:
$15/Hour 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Will travel with the family:
Yes,but up to 10 km 
Will care  Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Full meal preparation and service
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
   Book household travel arrangements
 
   Supervise contractors and tradespersons
 
   Supervise other household staff
 
 
 
  References
 
Lauren Rosenfeld 
Mother of the children for whom I was a full-time nanny during the summer of 2010 - have kept in touch ever since and I have served as an occasional sitter when on breaks home from college 
 
 
Kerry DiMatteo 
Third cousin with three children (now 7, 10, and 13) for whom I have cared for since each of their births.