Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us     
 
Find a   within   from ZIP    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit July 08, 2013 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning   
 Afternoon  
 Evening   
 Night              
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Hyattsville
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
Karlyn H.     Age 29      Female      Hyattsville  - Nicholson St
 
Member ID: 15687 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Mother's Helper 
Position Type: Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
 
  Join now for access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
A responsible and experience babysitter looking to share my enthusiasm and creativity as a nanny for a family seeking help with daily activities and any childcare and general household needs, (ie. light cleaning, cooking, etc) 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
American 
Background Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in the U.S.:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
10 years experience, 2 references
Personal Summary and Child Care Philosophy
My name is Karlyn. I was born and raised in Washington, DC and am now currently living in Hyattsville, MD. I graduated high school in 2008 and have since then been attending college and working. I have most recently attended Howard University (starting in 2009 till 2012) and have plans to start school again at UMD this coming fall. I have always had a passion for children, even when I was still one myself, and most specifically early childhood education. I have always felt I have a special ability to connect with children of all ages (maybe because I am just a big kid myself. ) and have honestly never met a child who didn't like me, and vice versa. I ultimately want to earn my PhD in human behavior and be a child psychologist. Babysitting experience:As I have been babysitting on and off for about 11 years now, I do not have a comprehensive account of all the jobs I have done for neighbors, family members, etc. I have been babysitting on and off since I was 12 years old (now 23). In 2011, I was a live-in part time nanny for a then 3-year-old boy for a period of about 6 months. I have experience with children ages infant through elementary school age (about 12). I have experience with meal prep and feeding for kids from infant to 12, as well as morning and bedtime prep (baths, stories, getting dressed, etc). I have always loved kids and I really do enjoy being a part of their learning process so when it comes to daily activities I strive to keep the day fun-filled, but educational as well. I am artistically inclined myself so with kids I love to do arts and crafts (macaroni necklaces, finger painting, etc). I also really enjoy taking lots of trips to parks and pools, now that its warm out, and activities like baking cookies. I am very energetic and loved playing outside when I was a kid so I think lots of outdoor playtime is great (as opposed to watching TV all day).

Recent Relevant Experience
Old Navy Westfield Montgomery Mall, Bethesda, MD
September 2012-March 2013
Sales Associate
Duties: Held a position as a customer service and sales associate. General duties included cash register knowledge and expertise, exceptional customer service, product knowledge, ability to educate customers on clothing, accessories and Old Navy Card benefits, ability to work under pressure and with multiple customers, and more. I was a cash register expert after only a few weeks of employment.

Leila Samara, Silver Spring, MD
January 2011 to July 2012
Babysitter for male child, age 3
Duties included:
⁃ Regularly traveled with the family to help with vacation activities and childcare.
⁃ Promoted language development skills through reading and storytelling.
⁃ Safely transported children to and from school, medical appointments and extra-curricular activities.
⁃ Worked with parents to develop and implement discipline programs to promote positive behavior.
⁃ Engaged in after-school activities including sport practice and homework.
⁃ Helped develop the family's schedule to maintain household order.
⁃ Organized activities that enhanced children's physical, emotional and social well-being.
⁃ Made healthy snacks and meals for multiple children.
⁃ Closely monitored children's play activities to verify safety.
⁃ Established and maintained a safe play environment for the children.
⁃ Communicated with parents about daily activities and behaviors.
⁃ Helped children complete homework assignments and school projects.
⁃ Encouraged children to be understanding of and patient with others.
⁃ Identified warning signs of emotional and developmental problems in children.
⁃ Coordinated field trips to local parks, fire stations and zoos.
⁃ Engaged with children on an individual basis to build positive relationships with them. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age  
Education/Training:
High School, Graduated High School or Equivalent, College, CPR Training 
Howard University, Washington, DC Fall 2009-Fall 2012 Edmund Burke School, Washington, DC 2004-2008 Graduated with HS Diploma in June 2008 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Mother's Helper 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
Work Hours:
20 - 30 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   3 - 12 months
 
   1 - 2 years
 
   As Long as Needed
 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
July 01, 2013 
Desired Salary:
$12/Hour 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Will travel with the family:
No 
Will care  Special Needs Children:
No 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed