Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us     
 
Find a   within   from ZIP    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit July 30, 2013 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning 
 Afternoon
 Evening 
 Night
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Silver Spring
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
Mabana B.     Age 35      Female      Silver Spring  - 13702 Colgate Way
 
Member ID: 16395 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Tutor 
Position Type: Live-In or Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
 
  Join now for access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
Hello, my name is Mabana and I am 31 years old. I love kids, and have many years of experience as a nanny. I am honest, trustworthy, caring, and patient; I can also be silly at time, but I definitely know when it's time to be serious as well. I do not have any kids of my own.

I am originally from the Ivory Coast (West Africa), I left at the age of seven and moved to Montreal, Canada with my family. I lived in Montreal from the age of seven to twelve, and then we moved to the U. S. in 1994. We moved to Philadelphia and I spent 14 years there, I went to junior high, high school, and college in Philadelphia. I received a B. A. in Communications from Temple University in 2005; from August 2005 to August 2008, I worked as a data analyst for a pharmaceutical consulting firm. In September 2008, I relocated to the D. C. metro area by myself, and started work as a research associate. I loved the diversity, and social life in the area. In July 2012, I was laid off from my job as a research associate. Although I had worked as a nanny on and off during the past 4 years, I decided to spend my energy in finding work as a full-time nanny. Being a nanny is hard work; but it is also fulfilling and rewarding, being with the right family makes all the difference, and that is definitely what I am looking for.

My passion is traveling, I haven't done it as much as I want to, but whenever I travel I learn so much. I have traveled to Salvador da Bahia (Brazil), Paris, Amsterdam, Cabo, Cancun, Toronto, and Dakar (Senegal) so far (also of course lived in the Ivory Coast, Montreal, Philly, and D. C. metro area). I also love to read and write, I have a blog about celeb and fashion called Mabanarama. I love to take walks, just discover new places, even if it is in a city like D. C., where I currently reside. I love to learn about different cultures, and try different types of food, go to museums, and even some physical activity from time to time (tennis; although I am not that great at it, and bowling).

I am not a dramatic person, I don't make a big deal out of things, and always see the best in people. I treat others with respect, so of course I appreciate the same courtesy towards me. I also speak French and English fluently, I am currently learning Spanish (very basic), and did study a bit of Portuguese during my study abroad session in Brazil (summer 2005).

Ok, I think I covered most of it; please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any further questions.

Thanks,

Mabana. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
No 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
French, English, French 
 
My Nationality:
American 
Background Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in the U.S.:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
4 years experience, 2 references
I worked for a family in D. C. ; a a little boy, I started working with him when he was 4, and stopped at 7. The family relocated to Germany, which is why I stopped working for them. I would watch him primarily on the weekend, but sometimes during the week as well (pick him up from school, make some food for him, help with homework). I would also stay overnight when his mother traveled out of town.

All other positions have been babysitting; date night, or when parents go out to dinner, or have other obligations. I have worked for multiple families in this capacities, and they have all been very happy with my work. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, special needs children  
Education/Training:
Bachelor's Degree 
B. A. in Communications (concentration in Journalism); Temple University, class of 2005. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Tutor 
Position Type:
Live-In or Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
Work Hours:
30 - 40 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   As Long as Needed
 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
August 19, 2013 
Desired Salary:
Negotiable salary 
Will work with up to:
Two children 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Will care  Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Book household travel arrangements
 
   Event and entertainment planning and organization
 
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
All references will be provided upon requests