Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us     
 
Find a   within   from ZIP    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit October 19, 2013 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning           
 Afternoon
 Evening 
 Night              
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in New York
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
Catherine K.     Age 66      Female      New York  - 203 west 81 street
 
Member ID: 17424 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter or Mother's Helper or Family Assistant 
Position Type: Live-Out, Part Time 
 
  Join now for access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
Great Aunt Available for Babysitting/Cooking/Home Management (Upper West Side)

Great Aunt Available for Babysitting/Cooking/Home Management

Do you need reliable childcare?

Do you prefer a caretaker who interacts with your children, plays games, reads books and plans outings to the park, library and Museum of Natural History?

I believe in hands-on learning, stimulating play, occasional silliness and having FUN -- on any day your child and I may bake cookies, finger paint, make a volcano out of flour, baking soda and vinegar, visit a museum or discuss the migration patterns of whales. I have a fondness for water balloons, silly string, kites, dogs, Chelsea Piers and movies in the park.

I am a mature 60 year-old retired Aunt and Great Aunt with many years of childcare experience and three years of recent experience as a Nanny/Household Manager. I have a lovely condo on the UWS and an extremely stable personal life. I prefer to work within walking distance of any of the trains that stop at 72nd and Broadway or the Natural History Museum. (ie 1, 2, 3, A, B, C, D)

What I have to offer:

Kind

Loving

Well mannered

Intelligent and Educated -- UC Berkeley, Anthropology

Reliable

Organized

Safe Driver -- not one moving violation in 43 years of driving, can parallel park.

CPR Certified - Will pass a background check

Native English Speaker

Non -- Smoker, Occasional glass of wine

I enjoy the company of children, toddlers to teens. I love reading, playing games (Go Fish to Poker) long conversations and answering questions that begin with "why. " I prefer to engage with children rather than park them in front of a TV or computer. I am pet and noise friendly, love to host play-dates and kids parties and don't mind kid created mess as long as we had fun making it. This winter I gave a Valentine's Day baking party for an 8 years old and three of her friends. We baked and decorated over fifty edible valentines and had great fun eating the wonky ones. In my current job I have instigated silliness, planed road trips to candy factories and taken four children under the age of ten camping. I am a very strong swimmer.

I provide hugs, kisses and tucking in at night for little ones.
I provide pats on the back, praise and positive reinforcement for older children.

I teach "please", "thank you", and old - fashioned courtesy. I believe discipline should be a learning experience about choices not about punishment.

I will not spend my time talking on my cell phone while at work.

I have a flexible schedule and caring for your family will be my only job. I would love to find a good fit in a family and stay for several years. My schedule is flexible but I prefer to work part time, 25 - 30 hours a week. I am available two to three full days a week, afternoons/evenings daily and Friday and/or Saturday nights.

I am an excellent cook with some formal training in French and Italian cuisine. I enjoy cooking and use lots of fresh herbs and homemade stocks. I am happy to tailor meals to your family's needs. I enjoy grocery shopping and don’t mind running errands, replacing light bulbs or waiting for repairmen but have no interest in heavy housecleaning.

I have experience managing domestic staff.

I have excellent writing skills and can help with homework in Writing, English, History and the Biological Sciences through a High School level. Sorry, haven't taken a math class since 1970 so my math skills end at Middle School☺

I have been working for a lovely family who will provide an excellent reference. I have other references as well. I can start as soon as you need me and hope to find something before November 1.

Please have a clean, organized, non-smoking home.

Salary commensurate with responsibilities

 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
No 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
American 
Background Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in the U.S.:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Divorced 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
5 years experience, 2 references
Career Summary: I have 30+ years of experience in household management, childcare and both formal and family meal planning and preparation. I love the company of children, have been babysitting since I was 12 and had my first “summer nanny” job at 14. I know how to manage a household efficiently and seamlessly and am an excellent cook with some formal training in French and Italian cuisine. I am adept at personal calendar management, scheduling appointments and maintaining household goods and services. I shop with an eye to quality for everything from groceries to linens and am an excellent city driver.

Key Strengths: I am very intelligent, well read, well traveled and a skilled multi-tasker. I have a flexible schedule and caring for your family will be my only job. I love the company of children, toddlers to teens. I enjoy all aspects of meal preparation including planning, shopping and preparing delicious and healthy family meals. I’m a perfectionist who can “go with the flow” and work well both independently and collaboratively, including:

• A love for the company of children
• Highly skilled cook with some formal training in French and Italian Cuisine
• Shopping for groceries as well as other household needs
• Competently managing complex personal and household calendars
• Performing household and personal errands
• Scheduling and implementing home maintenance and repair projects
• Coordinating and supervising service providers
• Researching activities, classes, camps and travel needs
• Attending to all aspects of your home including organizing interior spaces
• Providing flexibility in hours, days and locations to accommodate changing needs
• An ability to prioritize
• Detail-oriented
• A positive outlook and sense of humor

I have three major interests: children’s welfare and education, food and cuisine and exotic travel. My volunteer activities are centered on the needs of children from school book fairs to tutoring to arranging activities for large groups of underserved children. Much of my leisure time is spent in farmer’s markets, cooking classes and my kitchen. I also know the perfect place to stay in India if you want to see tigers in their habitat.

Work History

January 2012 – July 2013: Family Assistant for a San Francisco Home
Responsibilities included:
• Picking up children (girl & boy; ages 8 & 11) from school and driving them to after-school activities, classes, medical appointments, arranging play-dates and leisure activities (museums, trampoline jumping, etc. ) and took them (plus 2 friends) camping last summer.
• Cooking family dinners two to three nights a well as well as daily snacks and lunches.
• Coordinating and scheduling house repairs – plumbers, electricians, handymen including maintenance and organizational projects.
• Grocery, gift and household shopping and other errands.
• Arranging and organizing children’s parties.
• Researching camps, activities and classes
• Designing and implementing plans to turn a study into a room for their son including paint choices, floor plan, all furniture and soft goods purchases and supervising workmen

August 2011 – January 2012: Childcare 30 hours/week for 18-month-old boy.
 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age  
Education/Training:
College 
Education: University of California Berkeley, Double major in Anthropology and Dance. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter or Mother's Helper or Family Assistant 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
20 - 30 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   As Long as Needed
 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
September 29, 2013 
Desired Salary:
$25/Hour 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Will care  Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Full meal preparation and service
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
   Maintain household accounts/ pay bills
 
   Book household travel arrangements
 
   Supervise contractors and tradespersons
 
   Supervise other household staff
 
   Event and entertainment planning and organization