Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us     
 
Find a   within   from ZIP    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit January 29, 2014 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning 
 Afternoon
 Evening 
 Night
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Brooklyn
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
Merissa C.     Age 31      Female      Brooklyn  - Macdonough
 
Member ID: 18354 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter 
Position Type: Live-In or Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
 
  Join now for access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
Hello. My name is Merissa. I am looking to be a nanny because I have always loved children. I can cook, clean and I am very active. I have helped raise my younger sister and have taken care of my two youngest cousins since they were months old, until they moved due to a job promotion. I handle emergencies by the type and nature of them, as each are different.

I do not panic because when you do, it makes the situation worse. For example, if a child is ill with a temperature of 103 degrees, I would call the mother with the house phone and 911 with my cell.
If there was a fire, I would get the child/children and get them out of the house, call 911 and then the mother. I always leave the house to go to my job 2-3 hours before I am needed. I see it as anything can happen, and as I take public transportation, that's even more of a reason.

I know that my being late will affect my employer who would also be late for work and that is just something I will not do. My actions affect others, which is why I am always cautious of my time. My hours and days are very flexible, and I do not mind working overtime and/or weekends. The pay is also something that I do not stress about since times are hard. As long as I can make $200-$400+ a week, it is a match made in heaven.

I thank you all for reading my profile, and hope to someday soon be working for one of you. Have a great day. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
No 
Has a Vehicle:
No 
Can Swim Well:
No 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
Jamaican 
Background Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in the U.S.:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
6 years experience, 0 references
My work experience is from taking care of my younger sister and two cousins both 4 years apart from 6 months old until the eldest turned 13.

I was also employed outside of work by a woman by the name of Michelle (not saying the last name as I don't have her permission) and took care of her 4 boys, which was not easy but I do believe it helped me grow and gain experience as a Nanny/Babysitter. That employment ended with Ms. Michelle moving down to Georgia and therefore I could not continue on as her live-in Nanny. My job for her was to wake the children up, make sure they shower and get dressed. Made them breakfast and a lunch for school (Only 3 went to school the youngest who was 17 months old stayed home with me) sent them on the bus to school, clean the house, cook dinner and help with homework when they got in. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age, twins, triplets  
Education/Training:
High School 
I went to Canarsie High School, however due to a family emergency I had to drop out. I did obtain my G. E. D in Jan of 09. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter 
Position Type:
Live-In or Live-Out, Full Time, Part Time 
Work Hours:
40 - 50 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   Less than 3 months
 
   3 - 12 months
 
   1 - 2 years
 
   greater than 2 years
 
   As Long as Needed
 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Mending Children's clothing as required
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
January 29, 2014 
Desired Salary:
$13/Hour or Negotiable salary 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Will care  Special Needs Children:
No 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Full meal preparation and service
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
   Event and entertainment planning and organization