Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us     
 
Find a   within   from ZIP    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit July 09, 2014 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning 
 Afternoon
 Evening 
 Night              
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Seattle
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
Sara M.     Age 40      Female      Seattle  - Republican
 
Member ID: 19739 
Seeking work as a : Nanny 
Position Type: Live-Out, Full Time 
 
  Join now for access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
Hello. My name is Sara and I have worked as a Family and Children's Advocate at an early learning center for 9 years. I have experience working in the classrooms with children ages 1 - 5. I also have experience nannying occasionally for a family with a (now) 3-year-old and a 5-year-old. I enjoy working with children and especially enjoy creating lesson plans, reading to children, doing art together, and exploring on walks. I like to connect art, science, and math to the books I read with children. It's a pleasure to watch children learn and grow. I have knowledge of emotion coaching, reflective practice, kindergarten readiness skills, and promoting first relationships. I am patient and understanding. I believe in talking with children, giving them the words to use, and helping to build their self-esteem while teaching self-control and self-regulation. I have a current TB test, food handler's card, and a first aid and CPR certificate. I enjoy cooking, baking, dancing, and reading. I hope to talk to you about an opportunity to work with your family. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
American 
Background Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in the U.S.:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
2 years experience, 4 references
I have nine years of work experience as a Family and Children's Advocate working with one through five year olds. I have planned and implemented activities for children in the classroom at an early learning center. I have created lesson plans and worked with children on social and emotional skills, academic skills, fine and gross motor skills, cognitive skills, and language development. I am experienced with reflective practice and emotion coaching.

For three years I have provided child care coverage to groups of children at a housing program that I work at occasionally. I also have tutoring experience.

In addition to the above I have planned and taught parent engagement classes as well as parenting support meetings on topics such as learning through play, how to be reflective during challenging moments, sensory play, etc. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years  
Education/Training:
Master's Degree, CPR Training, First Aid Training 
I have a master's in education (curriculum and instruction). I did my master's thesis on kindergarten readiness - specifically whether social skills or academic skills are a better predictor of success in kindergarten. I have a bachelor's degree in journalism and a minor in psychology. I am currently taking a parenting education class. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Full Time 
Work Hours:
30 - 40 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   1 - 2 years
 
   greater than 2 years
 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
I'd mend children's clothing if I knew how to sew!
 
Desired Start Date:
July 09, 2014 
Desired Salary:
$21/Hour 
Will work with up to:
Two children 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Will care  Special Needs Children:
No 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Full meal preparation and service
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
   Maintain household accounts/ pay bills
 
   Book household travel arrangements
 
   Supervise contractors and tradespersons
 
   Supervise other household staff
 
   Event and entertainment planning and organization
 
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
Nannying extensively for a family over the last 2 years. First Aid Certified CPR Certified  
 
 
  References
 
Wendy Yim 
I have nannyed for Wendy's two children (now ages 5 and 3) since May of 2012. I care for her children (from planning activities to do with them, preparing meals, doing bathtub, and putting the children to bed) on a periodic basis. 
 
 
Margaret Armijo 
I have worked with Margaret for approximately 7 years at an early learning center for homeless children. We have taught trainings to parents together and I have cared for her children. She has seen me interact with children ages 1 - 12.