Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us     
 
Find a   within   from ZIP    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit July 10, 2014 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning     
 Afternoon    
 Evening               
 Night              
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Seattle
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
Robin A.     Age 33      Female      Seattle  - 31st ave NE
 
Member ID: 19761 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Babysitter 
Position Type: Live-Out, Part Time 
 
  Join now for access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
Hey there. My name is Robin. I have a background in musical theater, which I studied at the University of Massachusetts. I worked on a bunch of productions all around the Boston area, including a 14 year stint at a local playhouse where I really was a jack of all trades. Several of the positions I held there included: onstage performing, stage management, properties design, sound board operations, technical crew, and makeup design.

Kids have always gravitated toward me, and I LOVE IT.. I am really kooky, friendly, and outgoing. I am outdoorsy, creative, and can get pretty silly (which I think young folks appreciate). I love a good arts & crafts session like nothing else. Face painting is also always a good time. I love playing in the mud, and ballet/tea parties equally. Playing dress up is my FAVORITE. When I read stories, I have an arsenal of character voices and accents I use. I have a 3 year old godson back in Boston, who thinks I am a hoot. I have absolutely no qualms about making myself look and sound like a total fool to get laughs out of a kiddo- in fact, nothing in the world makes me happier.

While I am a fun and playful person, I can command respect and be firm when necessary. These were essential abilities during my time in management.

I recently moved to Seattle from Boston with my wonderful fiance. He accepted a position with Amazon, and they relocated us at the end of April. Our wedding is planned for the end of September, back in Massachusetts. We've only been west coasters for a few months, but already love it. Yes, for those interested. I have pahked my cah in the Hahvahd yahd. Being a native Bostonian, my accent does slip out occasionally, despite dialect training to eliminate it.

When I moved to Seattle, it was with a heavy heart that I left my position as general manager of a children's indoor play and enrichment center. We accommodated kids aged 6 months-6 years there, and offered a variety of classes, birthday parties, and a super clean and safe play area. I made a lot of personal connections with the families and kids that came through our doors, many of which bought memberships and signed up for classes so they could come visit me every day. Previous to this position, I was general manager of a children's painting studio for 3 years, where I had a similar experience. just a more messy one.

I would love to develop a relationship with a family here on the west coast, now that I am not working full time. I am available during the day from Monday-Friday. If there's anything else you'd like to know, please do not hesitate to ask..
 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
American 
Background Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in the U.S.:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Married 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Spiritual - Not Religious 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
10 years experience, 3 references
I have never nannied per se, but I have babysat my entire life for anyone I know that has kids. When I was a teenager, I had a few families that would call me once in a while to sit for them. I don't have kids of my own yet, but I have a 3 year old godson who is the light of my life and I scoop him up whenever possible (a bit harder now though that we're on separate coasts). I am also the oldest of three children in my family, and proudly took care of my younger siblings as soon as I was old enough to do so. Also managing two different child centered businesses was a huge learning experience. I saw a lot of different parenting techniques, being around families all day every day. I have found that speaking to kids as an equal (with no patronizing at all) establishes a huge level of respect from them. Tantrums are best ignored (as long as the child is safe) and bad behavior in public means it's time to go home. I only yell if there's a dangerous situation it will prevent, never for scolding. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years  
Education/Training:
High School, Graduated High School or Equivalent, College, CPR Training, First Aid Training 
I have taken Red Cross courses in first aid, CPR, and AED in the past, but my certification expired years ago. I'd be willing to take a refresher course, (or whatever is necessary to re-certify) provided that my employer can cover the cost. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Babysitter 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Part Time 
Work Hours:
20 - 30 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   As Long as Needed
 
   Occasional/As Needed
 
Childcare Duties:
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Mending Children's clothing as required
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
July 10, 2014 
Desired Salary:
Negotiable salary 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Will travel with the family:
No 
Will care  Special Needs Children:
No 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
I also love animals. Our pets are our kids too. I have a super friendly 4 year old beagle named Baxter who adores children, and is very gentle with them. He gives the sweetest little kisses and will snuggle with just about anyone. He'd make a great therapy dog. I am happy to bring him to play, or leave him at home. Whatever you and your kiddos would be most comfortable with.