Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us     
 
Find a   within   from ZIP    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit July 26, 2014 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning     
 Afternoon    
 Evening     
 Night              
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Pittsburgh
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
Lauren R.     Age 32      Female      Pittsburgh, PA  - South 26th Street
 
Member ID: 19958 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Nanny/Housekeeper 
Position Type: Live-Out, Full Time 
 
  Join now for access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
I am a fun-loving young woman who is excited for an opportunity to be a nanny for the right family. I worked in the Education department at the Carnegie Museum of Natural History while I attended college at Pitt, and it has been the most rewarding job I have ever worked. I loved working with and teaching children in various classes and summer camps, and I can't wait to work with kids again. I believe being around children helps keep the spirit young because of the sense of wonder they have about the world.

I have a BS in Information Science from Pitt and am currently employed as a computer programmer. I am interested in making a career change because I have found working with computers is not my passion.

I enjoy many different activities during my free time, including baking, cooking, reading, going for walks, bicycling, lifting weights, and, most importantly, spending time with my family. I come from a close-knit family, so I understand the importance of being in a nurturing environment. I hope to one day provide that environment for children of my own, but in the meantime, I would love to contribute to it for another family. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
No 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
No 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
American 
Background Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in the U.S.:
Yes 
Civil Status:
 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
0 years experience, 2 references
Although I do not have experience as a nanny outside of babysitting while in high school, I did work in the Education department at the Carnegie Museum of Natural History throughout my time attending Pitt. I assisted with classes for home schooled children, summer camp, and overnight programs at the museum, in addition to various other educational programs. I am also a Sunday School teacher at a local church for the three-year-old class.

My time working with children so far has taught me that patience is key. I believe that children respond best to positive reinforcement, and I have a positive disposition. I will support creativity and imagination and do everything I can to help whatever child I am working with. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years  
Education/Training:
Graduated High School or Equivalent, Bachelor's Degree 
Bachelor's of Science in Information Science from the University of Pittsburgh 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Nanny/Housekeeper 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Full Time 
Work Hours:
30 - 40 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   1 - 2 years
 
   greater than 2 years
 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
July 26, 2014 
Desired Salary:
Negotiable salary 
Will work with up to:
Two children 
Will travel with the family:
No 
Will care  Special Needs Children:
No 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Full meal preparation and service
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
 
 
  References
 
Joan Batson 
I worked with Joan at the Carnegie Museum of Natural History. She was a teacher for the Education department, and was also my immediate supervisor at one point. We worked together for three years. I was able to find my position at the Museum as part of my financial aid package through Pitt, so I was forced to stop working there when it was no longer included in my financial aid. I can provide Joan's contact information if required. 
 
 
Kevyn Reinholt 
I currently work with Kevyn at my job as a computer programmer. He can attest to my work ethic and positive attitude. I can provide Kevyn's contact information if required.