Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us     
 
Find a   within   from ZIP    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit August 27, 2014 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning     
 Afternoon    
 Evening     
 Night    
 
 
 
 
 
Caregiver Profile 
Housekeeping Profile 
Nanny & Babysitter in Sandy Plains Road
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
Janie G.     Age 66      Female      Sandy Plains Road, NY 
 
Member ID: 20219 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Nanny/Housekeeper 
Position Type: Live-In or Live-Out, Full Time 
 
  Join now for access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
Hello,

I am divorced with a wonderful step daughter who is working on her PHD in Human Centered Design out in Seattle. I also have 2 beautiful and smart step grand daughters.

I worked in the kitchen at Spago the first 2 years it was open in Hollywood as a prep cook and kitchen manager.

I am now employed by Cornell Cooperative Extension in Ulster County as a nutrition educator. The grants have been cut and beginning in October 2014 my job will be part time.

I am looking for part time or full time employment.

My hobbies are photography and drawing. I enjoy time in the woods or by water.

I enjoy warm relationships with family and friends; including my ex and step family.

I enjoy children.

I do not smoke or drink.

I think my religion is personal and so is yours. I believe in respect for all people.

I purchased a house in Leeds last year. If I were hired for a live in position I would rent out that house.
I am clean and organized.

I have taken the CPR certification, but would need to renew.

I have been to massage therapy school in Pennsylvania. I had the National license; but let that expire because it is not accepted in New York State. I do massage for friends and family.

 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
American 
Background Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in the U.S.:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Divorced 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Other 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
0 years experience, 0 references
Other than baby sitting many years ago and being a step grand mother; I do not have child care experience.

I believe in a balance of teaching children cause and effect in their actions along with helping them explore their own natural interests and instincts.

At each different age children can understand the world around them and inside them in different ways.

With my step daughter and grand daughters, I have always been open about my experiences in ways they were able to understand and tried to help them understand their own experiences and explore the world.

My step daughters are 13 and 23.

In someone else's home; my role would be to back up what the ideas are in that family.



 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
 
Education/Training:
Graduated High School or Equivalent, Associates Degree, CPR Training 
My CPR would need to be updated. I have 2 years at Penn State in Liberal Arts. My education has always continued by way of reading, listening and learning from the people around me. Certificate in Massage Therapy 1999 Certificate in Small Restaurant Management 1978 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Nanny/Housekeeper 
Position Type:
Live-In or Live-Out, Full Time 
Work Hours:
30 - 40 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   greater than 2 years
 
   As Long as Needed
 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Mending Children's clothing as required
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
September 15, 2014 
Desired Salary:
$30/Hour 
Will work with up to:
Four or more 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Will care  Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Full meal preparation and service
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
   Maintain household accounts/ pay bills
 
   Book household travel arrangements
 
   Event and entertainment planning and organization
 
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
I worked for 20 years in restaurants as server, kitchen manager, cook and baker. I have worked many banquets, set up and planning at a fine resort. I am interested in working for a family as a "live in granny for hire". I would look for the" family feel" and not so much the fancy entertaining.  
 
 
  References
 
Deanna Young 
Deanna is my direct supervisor at Cornell Cooperative Extension. We work closely in organizing our workload and satisfying the terms of our grants. My position as a Nutrition Educator is grant funded and one of our grants ends very soon.  
 
 
Stephanie Mahna 
Stephanie is the owner of this Adult Care facility. I worked there for one year until I was hired here at CCE. I cooked and interacted with the residents at the facility. I was professional and well liked by the residents as I went out of my way to get to know them and what they like to eat.