Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us     
 
Find a   within   from ZIP    Advanced Search  
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit February 23, 2016 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning 
 Afternoon
 Evening 
 Night
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in Portland
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
Sarah O.     Age 27      Female      Portland  - Kenton
 
Member ID: 23493 
Seeking work as a : Nanny or Nanny/Housekeeper or Tutor 
Position Type: Live-Out, Full Time 
 
  Join now for access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
I will be moving to Portland at the end of this summer, and am looking for a nannying job because I love kids. My interests swing mainly towards the arts-- i. e. music, writing, painting, sketching, and photography. I love to cook, and would love to prepare tasty meals for the family. I am a vegetarian, into finding meals that are yummy and healthy (though, I would be fine with cooking meat as per the family's request).

It is my dream to write children's books. Who knows, maybe your children will find their way into one of my stories. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
Yes 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, English 
 
My Nationality:
American 
Background Check:
Willing to obtain 
Eligible to work in the U.S.:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
Unitarian Universalist 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
1 years experience, 4 references
I adore children, and as a result, I have acquired quite a bit of experience with them. Every summer since my Freshman year of high school, I have led vacation bible school (VBS) at one of our local churches--playing, singing and teaching preschoolers through sixth graders. My role was to be the youth pastor's assistant, meaning that I was in charge of games and making sure that every child was being treated well and in safe hands with the other VBS leaders.

The following summer I moved back to Iowa and nannied for a seven-year-old boy. His mother wanted to make sure that he had reading, writing, and arithmetic made its way into our schedule every day, and also wanted to make sure that he had enough playtime that was away from electronics. Consequently, I became pretty innovative and creative in order to keep him focused and stimulated.

 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years, 5 - 10 years, over 10 years of age  
Education/Training:
Bachelor's Degree 
-Graduated from Northwestern College in Orange City, Iowa with a double major in Writing and Rhetoric (a focus on creative writing) and Vocal performance. -Trained in tutoring for writing: worked as a writing tutor for Northwestern students for 2 years. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny or Nanny/Housekeeper or Tutor 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Full Time 
Work Hours:
30 - 40 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   As Long as Needed
 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Occasional supervision of childrens friends/guests
 
   Ironing children's clothing as needed
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Mending Children's clothing as required
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
 
Desired Start Date:
August 10, 2015 
Desired Salary:
Negotiable salary 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Will travel with the family:
Yes 
Will care  Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Full meal preparation and service
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Greeting/serving household guests
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Family laundry
 
   Family sheets/towels and other linens
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Book household travel arrangements
 
   Supervise other household staff
 
   Event and entertainment planning and organization
 
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
Though I only have a summer of nannying under my belt, I have years of experience for the care of people under my belt. I have been working in kitchens since I was sixteen. My first job title was a dietary assistant at a nursing home where I was required to prepare and serve meals to residents there (many of which had very specific dietary needs). Likewise, I was required to undergo training which would enable me to communicate with those residents who had dementia, Alzheimer's, or other diseases. The summer after my sophomore year of college, I provided care for my great aunt who was in poor health and refused to go to a nursing home because of the high expenses. I stayed with her through the evening to the morning and prepared meals for her, bought her groceries, bathed her, etc. While I was away during the day, she had my cell phone number close at hand so that she could call me for any emergencies or surprise errands that might come up. The following semester, I moved to Orlando, Florida as part of the Disney College Program. There, I had the privilege of talking about children's dreams with them while they stood in line to eat at the restaurant I worked in. I was required not only to learn good guest service, but also major rules of food sanitation (while furthering my cooking experience). When I moved back to Iowa, I spent a year at my college as a Resident Assistant, planning events and getting to know girls in the dorm to establish a strong sense of community. Since the year ended (this would have been the 2013/2014 school year) and I am no longer an RA, I still keep busy working as an editor for the school's yearly literary magazine publication, working as a writing tutor, and babysitting for one of my English professors.