Join Now |  Log In | Rates |  About Us |  Contact Us     
 
Find a   within   from ZIP    Basic Search  
 
 
Living Arrangements:
Part-Time/Full-Time:
Language(s) spoken:
Age Range:  
Last Login:
Special needs children
Has Driver's License
Has own car
Comfortable with pets
Non-smoker
Travel with family
Has photo
Years Experience:  
 Experience with age groups:
Newborn - 3 months   3 - 12 months  
1 - 2 years   2 - 5 years  
5 - 10 years   over 10 years of age  
special needs children   twins, triplets  
 
 
  Back to search results  
Last Visit December 13, 2016 
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny Availability
  M T W Th F Sa Su
 Morning 
 Afternoon
 Evening 
 Night          
 
 
 
 
 
Nanny & Babysitter in New Castle
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
Deena A.     Age 61      Female      New Castle  - Mitchell Road
 
Member ID: 30864 
Seeking work as a : Nanny 
Position Type: Live-Out, Full Time 
 
  Join now for access this candidate's contact details  
 
  About Me
 
GREETINGS PARENTS. If you're looking for a loving, nurturing, educated, reliable, and enthusiastic nanny, then look no further. My name is Deena, and I love children. I have decades of child care experience. I have worked as a private nanny, a child care provider, a child development specialist, and a preschool teacher. In addition, I am the former founder and a director of two family day care homes.

I am currently seeking a full-time, permanent position as a professional nanny. I am available immediately for a full-time position, but also interested in temporary or occasional babysitting work until I find a full-time job. I live in New Castle, PA, but I am willing to drive up to 45 minutes each way for a permanent position with a great family, and I will travel up to one hour for a one-time or temporary/short-term child care job.

I have a professional nanny resume, my child care and FBI background clearances, 3 letters of recommendation, and 7 child care references, all of which I am happy to provide. I have 2 college degrees and also studied art education for 2 years. My driving record is excellent, and I own a very safe and reliable, all-wheel drive Subaru Forester.

I am available for a phone or in-person interview at your convenience. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Thank you for your time and consideration. Good luck in your search, and I wish you and your family all the best.

Sincerely,

Deena A. 
 
 
Valid Driver's License:
Yes 
Has a Vehicle:
Yes 
Can Swim Well:
No 
Smoking Status:
Non-Smoker 
Comfortable with pets:
Yes 
Languages spoken:
English, Spanish, Some basic Spanish, but not fluent. 
 
My Nationality:
American 
Background Check:
Yes 
Eligible to work in the U.S.:
Yes 
Civil Status:
Single 
Religion/Spiritual Practice:
 
 
 
  Work Experience & Education Background
 
10 years experience, 5 references
Temporary Nanny for Family Visiting New Castle, PA: Nov. 23, 25, & 26, 2016
• Cared for a 9-month-old baby and a 5-year-old child over the Thanksgiving holiday.
• Since the family was visiting from out of town, I brought toys, books, and a baby swing.
• Engaged children with toys, games, books, songs, etc. Sent text updates and pics to parents.

Occasional Babysitter for Family & Friends, Pittsburgh, PA: Sept. '99–Present
• Responsible for the nurturing, safety and well-being of all children in my care.
• Encouraged active learning through playing, reading, coloring, and exploring.

Professional Nanny, Pittsburgh, PA: June '93–Aug. '99 (Worked for a series of families. )
• Responsible for the safety, care, and well-being of one infant child.
• Encouraged and promoted educational and developmental activities.
• Assisted family with household maintenance and management.
• Took child on field trips to the zoo, parks, playgrounds, museums, etc.

Child Care Coordinator, Pittsburgh, PA: Sept. '85–Sept. '87, May '88–Sept. '89, Sept. '91–May '93
• Developed and organized a multi-family child care coop group.
• Planned activities, preschool lessons, and arts and crafts projects.
• Responsible for the overall supervision and care of the children.

Child Specialist/Parent Counselor, Parental Stress Center, Pittsburgh, PA: March '91 – Aug. '91
• Provided in-home and center-based assessment, counseling, and advisory services for
at-risk families and children who were attending a court-mandated parenting program.
• Evaluated the children’s ongoing development for progress reports and parent conferences.
• Taught parenting skills, child development, and stress management to the families.

Director and Founder, 2 Family Day Care Homes, Pittsburgh, PA: April '84–Aug. '85, 1 Jan. '90–March '91
• Organized and established two separate family day care homes in Pittsburgh.
• Designed activities and the environment to promote the children’s development.
• Taught preschool lessons and designed arts and crafts projects for the children.
• Planned field trips and outings for the children with the help of parent volunteers.

Preschool Teacher, New World Child Development Center, Pittsburgh, PA: May '83–April '84
• Taught preschool lessons and developed arts and crafts projects for the children.
• Assisted in the day care’s maintenance, management, and curriculum development.
• Evaluated children’s development and prepared progress reports for parents. 
 
 
Childcare experience within the following age groups:
Newborn - 3 months, 3 - 12 months, 1 - 2 years, 2 - 5 years  
Education/Training:
High School, Graduated High School or Equivalent, College, Associates Degree, Bachelor's Degree, CPR Training, First Aid Training, College Child Education Courses 
Associate Degree, 2002 Art Institute of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania Major: Multimedia & Web Design Graduate Studies, 1987 – 1989 Carlow College, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania Major: Art Education Bachelor of Science Degree, 1983 University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania Major: Psychology, Minor: Child Development and Sociology *Please note: I took a Child First Aid and CPR course many years ago, and I plan on retaking these courses ASAP for a refresher. 
 
  Job Preferences
 
Seeking work as a :
Nanny 
Position Type:
Live-Out, Full Time 
Work Hours:
40 - 50 hours/week 
Position Duration:
   1 - 2 years
 
   greater than 2 years
 
   As Long as Needed
 
Childcare Duties:
   Cooking
 
   Light Housekeeping
 
   Running errands
 
   Preparing meals
 
   Transporting children
 
   Children's Laundry
 
   Limited/light housekeeping
 
   Children's baths and dressing
 
   Help with homework
 
   Adhere to special dietary rules (vegetarian, kosher, lactose intolerant, etc.)
 
   Packing Children's lunches
 
   Planning activities for the children
 
I can plan some fun arts and crafts projects!
 
Desired Start Date:
December 19, 2016 
Desired Salary:
$20/Hour or $800 - $1000/month 
Will work with up to:
Three children 
Will travel with the family:
No 
Will care  Special Needs Children:
Yes 
Housekeeping Duties:
   Keep a grocery list
 
   Initial preparation of family's dinner as directed
 
   Keep the kitchen tidy during work hours
 
   Feed pets during work day as directed
 
   Walk dog and/or pet care
 
   Plant care (indoor)
 
   Grocery shopping regularly as directed
 
   Dust/Vacuum entire house, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Sweep kitchen floor daily
 
   Mop Kitchen floor weekly, minumum weekly frequency
 
   Run/Empty dishwasher daily
 
   Empty kitchen trash as required
 
   Errands, including dry cleaning, as directed
 
   Maintain household accounts/ pay bills
 
   Book household travel arrangements
 
   Supervise contractors and tradespersons
 
   Supervise other household staff
 
   Event and entertainment planning and organization
 
I can help plan children's birthday parties. I can even design the party invitations and take pics at the party!
 
 
Additional Experiences/Qualifications/Preferences:
My preference would be to take care of one newborn baby or toddler. I just love babies! There is something so special about watching them discover and learn about the world for the very first time. But I would be willing to care for two children (possibly more) for a great job with a great family. Salary is negotiable based on age and number of children, and duties desired by the family. I would be willing to travel with the family occasionally for weekend getaways. I love to cook and bake, and I studied child nutrition when I ran my own family day care home, so I can prepare nutritious meals for your children. I'm also more than happy to run errands, do the family's grocery shopping, pick up dry cleaning, do light housekeeping, etc. I am not a "sit at home" nanny. If you hire me as your new nanny, I will take your child(ren) on many fun and educational excursions to the park, playground, library, museums, etc. I would try to get your child(ren) outdoors every day, weather permitting, even if it was just a short walk around the neighborhood in the stroller or holding hands, depending on your child's age. I love the outdoors, and I think it's healthy for children to experience a change of scenery, and to get plenty of fresh air and sunshine. 
 
 
  References
 
Elliot Moskow 
*TO PROTECT THE PRIVACY OF MY REFERENCES, I WILL EMAIL THEIR PHONE NUMBERS TO FAMILIES WHO CONTACT ME DIRECTLY. I WILL NOT PUBLISH ANYONE'S PHONE NUMBER ONLINE! Temporary Nanny for Family visiting New Castle, PA over the Thanksgiving holiday: 11/23/16, 11/25/16 & 11/26/16 • Cared for a 9-month-old baby and a 5-year-old child over the Thanksgiving holiday. • Since the family was visiting from out of town, I brought toys, books, and a baby swing. • Engaged children with toys, games, books, songs, etc. Sent text updates and pics to parents. I had a great rapport with this family, and they promised to hire me again on their next visit to New Castle. They live in Las Vegas, NV, but have family in New Castle, so they come to visit a few times a year. The parents gave me permission to add them to my list of professional child care references, and the children's father wrote me a rave review on Care.com! FATHER'S REVIEW: During her time as a sitter for our family, Deena went above and beyond to make sure our two kids (5yrs. and 9months) were comfortable, happy, and engaged. Deena was timely and responsive, and we could not have asked for a better outcome. Please consider Deena as your next sitter; she's truly great. 
 
 
Elaine Davis 
*TO PROTECT THE PRIVACY OF MY REFERENCES, I WILL EMAIL THEIR PHONE NUMBERS TO FAMILIES WHO CONTACT ME DIRECTLY. I WILL NOT PUBLISH ANYONE'S PHONE NUMBER ONLINE! 2011–The Present. I have been friends with Elaine Davis & Dr. Robert Hudak for about 20 years. They had a little boy 5 years ago, and I've been babysitting for them on an occasional "as needed" basis ever since. Elaine is a stay-at-home mom, so I mostly took care of their son for date nights, but one time it was when they attended a conference back when their son was just a one-year-old baby. Both parents are my references, but the dad works full time, so it's more likely that you will reach the mom first. They live in Pittsburgh, PA.